melbourne cup carnivalThe 2017 Melbourne Cup Carnival is set to be another exciting affair as the world’s fastest thoroughbreds descend on Flemington Racecourse in November.

Taking place over four days from Saturday 4th November to Saturday 11th November 2017, Melbourne Cup week is the highlight of the 2017 Melbourne spring racing carnival. in Melbourne, Victoria.

Arguably Victoria’s biggest sporting event, the majestic Flemington track fills to its brims on Melbourne Cup day. Racing enthusiasts from all walks of life make the trek to Flemington to witness our greatest race.

Naturally, the 2017 Melbourne Cup is the race that will stop the nation. However, the Flemington four-day spring racing carnival has become almost bigger than the famous two-miler in recent times.

2017 Melbourne Cup Carnival

Melbourne Cup week attracts the hottest celebrities and fashionistas, who combine with the rank & file of the punting world, including once a year punters, to produce an atmosphere of unbridled racing passion.

Just as in previous years, the 2017 Melbourne Cup Carnival will excite all and sundry. A huge crowd will cheer as another Melbourne Cup winner goes into the record books, etching their name into Melbourne Cup history.

2017 Melbourne Cup Carnival Dates

The four-day 2017 Melbourne Cup Carnival will take place on the following days.

  • 2017 Victoria Derby Day (Saturday 4th November 2017)
  • 2017 Melbourne Cup Day (Tuesday 7th November 2017)
  • 2017 Crown Oaks Day (Thursday 9th November 2017)
  • 2017 Emirates Stakes Day (Saturday 11th November 2017)

Early 2017 Melbourne Cup betting markets are available at Sportsbet. Grab yourself a matched first bet bonus along the way when you join Sportsbet and place a first ever bet!

2017 Melbourne Cup Carnival News


Come back later in the year as we get closer to the biggest racing week of them all for the latest 2017 Melbourne Cup news.

The 2017 Melbourne Cup will run on Tuesday 7th November 2017 at Flemington racecourse.

Michelle Payne creates Melbourne Cup History

In 2015, the Melbourne Cup winner was Prince Of Penzance, trained by Darren Weir and ridden by Michelle Payne.

For Michelle Payne, it culminated a lifelong dream, and created history in the process, becoming the first female jockey to ride the Melbourne Cup winner.

The memorable moment was made even more special by Michelle’s brother Stevie being the horse’s strapper. The win also fulfilled a lifelong dream for trainer Darren Weir and put the regional city of Ballarat in the racing spotlight.

Melbourne Cup Winners

Recent Melbourne Cup winners can be found below from 2000 onwards.

Year Winner Runner-up Third
2016 Almandin Heartbreak City Hartnell
2015 Prince Of Penzance Max Dynamite Criterion
2014 Protectionist Red Cadeaux Who Shot Thebarman
2013 Fiorente Red Cadeaux Mount Athos
2012 Green Moon Fiorente Jakkalberry
2011 Dunaden Red Cadeaux Lucas Cranach
2010 Americain Maluckyday So You Think
2009 Shocking Crime Scene Mourilyan
2008 Viewed Bauer C’est La Guerre
2007 Efficient Purple Moon Mahler
2006 Delta Blues Pop Rock Maybe Better
2005 Makybe Diva On A Jeune Xcellent
2004 Makybe Diva Vinnie Roe Zazzman
2003 Makybe Diva She’s Archie Jardine’s Lookout
2002 Media Puzzle Mr Prudent Beekeeper
2001 Ethereal Give The Slip Persian Punch
2000 Brew Yippyio Second Coming

Visit online bookie Sportbet for the latest 2017 Melbourne Cup odds.